After becoming an independent State, the Supreme Court and High Court were established and courts at different levels were also formed under the Union Judiciary Act, 1948.

On 2nd March 1962, the Revolutionary Council took over the sovereign powers and the judicial system was transformed into the socialist system. The Revolutionary Council abolished the Supreme Court and the High Court and established the Chief Court instead.

Under the 1974 Constitution, the Central court, the State and Divisional courts, the Township courts and the Wards and Village Tracts courts were formed. The salient feature of the then judicial system was the participation of the working people in all levels of courts.

On 26th September 1988, the State Law and Order Restoration Council promulgated the Judiciary Law and formed the courts at different levels and for the administration of justice in the Union of Myanmar. It was subsequently repealed by Judiciary Law, 2000 which was promulgated on the 27th June, 2000 by the State Peace and Development Council, for the promotion of the judiciary, and to revamp the formation of courts.

The present judicial system was adopted  under the 2008 Constitution and Union Judiciary Law 2010.


Nay Pyi Taw, 22nd August 2017

Workshop on Intellectual Property co-organized by the Office of the Union Supreme Court and Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) was held at the Park Royal Hotel today.


Read More

Nay Pyi Taw, 20-23 June 2017

Training for Master Trainers-TOT and Training on Child Protection and Child Sensitive Judicial Procedures for Judges are held by the Office of the Union Supreme Court at Amara Hotel, Nay Pyi Taw from 20 to 23 June 2017  in

Read More

Nay Pyi Taw, June 13

UNION CHIEF JUSTICE U Htun Htun Oo attended the 2nd China-ASEAN Justice Forum held in Nanning, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region of the People's Republic of China on 7 and 8 June 2017.

Present at

Read More

Nay Pyi Taw, 17 May 2017

Chief Justice of the Union U Htun Htun Oo received H.E. Scot Marciel, Ambassador, the Embassy of the United States of America at 09:30 in the Meeting Hall of the Supreme Court of the Union.

In the meeting, they cordially discussed further

Read More

Nay Pyi Taw, 5 May 2017

The Hon. Htun Htun Oo, Chief Justice of the Union received H.E. KAMIKAWA Yoko, Member of the House of the Representatives (Lower House) and Former Justice Minister at 09:30 in the Meeting Hall of the Supreme Court of the Union.


Read More